A Weekend of Firsts

19 Dec

Saying goodbye to family and friends was sad but surreal. It still hadn’t sunk in that we weren’t just going on holiday. It was only when we arrived at the airport that we had a little puncture of reality, as we said goodbye to our parents and tears started to sneak out!

We arrived at our temporary apartment in darkness, with the sound of squeaking tree frogs filling the air. Our hosts, Sandra and Jimmy, lived in the house above our apartment and had kindly stocked the fridge with essentials, and over the next few weeks would pop down with homemade Pumpkin Pie for Halloween and Rum Cake for our birthdays.

Our Temporary Home in Berry Hill Lane

Our first day in Bermuda was spent…playing Laser Tag. Now, I’m not usually one to opt for any activity that involves running, but as all of Rich’s colleagues were attending to get to know Rich, I felt I had to join them to be a good sport! On our way, Rich told me that the game would actually be outdoors, in a field around a disused building. I took one look at my bright yellow skirt with holes in the shapes of flowers at the hem and wondered if I could convincingly feign illness.

As we arrived, I had that same feeling I used to have just before PE lessons – the one where, paradoxically, you want to run, just not in the same direction as your classmates. But, despite snagging my skirt on a few branches and not being the best camouflaged, I actually had great fun and managed to kill someone (within the game of course, it wasn’t that Laser Tag had brought out a deep-rooted inner violent psychopath)

Rich’s colleagues quickly became friends in the course of the day, and we returned to our apartment on the back of our new friends’ scooters – another first for me. After surviving my scooter trip, I now felt ready to embrace island life!

2 Responses to “A Weekend of Firsts”

  1. timdp 19 December, 2010 at 4:07 pm #

    Great post. I am gonna love dog or affair.

    • suscatty 19 December, 2010 at 5:51 pm #

      Thank you Tim, glad you like it 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

