Looking for Grace Lane

4 Jan

On a previous trip to the east end of the island, I’d seen a road with the same name as one of our friend’s little girls, and thought it would be great to take a photo of the sign to send to her. Trying to find it however was a little tricky – I knew it was somewhere just after the Blackwatch Pass Tunnel, which neither Rich or I knew how to get to. I tried to remember some landmarks which I’d noticed but Rich surprisingly didn’t find helpful:

(Me) “it was near a pink house…” (Rich) “There’s about 500 of those.”
(Me) “it was on a road by the ocean…” (Rich) “Su, we live on an island.”

As Rich took a right I looked at all the unfamiliar houses and told him it definitely was not on this road. I didn’t recognise any of the buildings or signs. In fact, I was certain this was not the right road, right up to when we turned the bend and saw the Blackwatch Pass Tunnel ahead of us. Oops. It was obviously my mistake. I’d not considered the fact that the number 11 bus route passes through a tear in the space/time continuum, allowing it to effectively jump from this road to another. Clearly the wormhole was just after the road we were looking for. The mystery was solved with my sense of direction as strong as ever. Ahem.

So here it is, the road named after our favourite 6 year old! Just don’t ask me how to find it…

We found Grace Lane!

One Response to “Looking for Grace Lane”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Looking for Grace Lane « Dog or Affair -- Topsy.com - 6 January, 2011

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Amy Lane, Su Scatliffe. Su Scatliffe said: Today's blog post – Looking for Grace Lane! https://dogoraffair.wordpress.com/2011/01/04/looking-for-grace-lane/ […]

Leave a Reply

