Mouldy days and Sundays always get me down

27 Jan

Sunday wasn’t a good day. I woke at 7am to find the power was off. In Bermuda that’s not unusual; with all the power cables hanging from poles all it takes is a strong gust of wind and they’re disconnected. Normally the outage is fixed within an hour and your day continues uninterrupted. I fell back to sleep thinking through the things I was going to do when I work up to a fully-functioning house; bake brownies, do some laundry, work online for a bit, and then make a coulis for pudding for our two evening dinner guests.

Unfortunately all of these things require some galvanising, and so I was quite miffed to wake at 9am to find there was still no power. At first I thought it was actually rather good as, with no functioning hairdryer, clearly I had no other option other than to stay in my PJs and read my book. By 1pm however the novelty had completely worn off and I spent the next two hours stomping around with wet hair and a grumpy face.

At 3.15pm, one hour and fifteen minutes before our dinner guests were due to arrive expecting a lovely roasted pork shoulder sizzling in the oven, the power came back on. Rich and I scrambled to the kitchen to peel and chop and boil and bake, competing for kitchen appliances and floor space.

I’d just stopped cursing Bermuda’s stupid electrics/hurricane force winds when I discovered this: my little heat bag of beans – the cure for everything from tummy aches to chilly feet – was covered in mould. Bermuda had crept into the bedroom and breathed its dusty, damp breath all over it.

I was more upset than I should have been over a £5 microwaveable tartan bag and as I switched on the dehumidifier with a growl I wondered why. The bag of beans wasn’t expensive. It wasn’t made of particularly fetching material. But, it stood for comfort and cosiness and familiarity. And this silly foreign island, with its ridiculously high humidity levels, had got its thieving paws on it.

Luckily I’d prepared myself that I’d probably have a love/mild dislike relationship with Bermuda in my first year of living here, and accepted this was one of those days where I loved it less. Unlike Rich (wherever he lays his XBOX is his home), it takes me time to settle in a place and feel connected to it. When you leave a home that you’ve made your own, a job you know inside out and a set of good friends to go somewhere new, it’s easy to forget what it was like when you first bought that house, started that job, and met those friends for the first time. So I remind myself of this and then a little bubble of excitement pops as I think of all of the new experiences Rich and I are going to have over the next few years. I also know that, come the summer when we’re snorkelling in the turquoise ocean, or eating wahoo fish by the harbour, I’ll forgive Bermuda for its flaws.

5 Responses to “Mouldy days and Sundays always get me down”

  1. Samantha Sparrow 27 January, 2011 at 9:13 am #

    You still have your good friends, there is just a bit of land and sea in between. I can’t guarantee I won’t ever get mouldy but I am always on the end of a phone/email.

    xxx

    • suscatty 27 January, 2011 at 9:42 am #

      Thanks hun! It was just one of THOSE days! All back to normal now – with electricity and everything! 🙂 x

  2. Danni 30 January, 2011 at 7:09 am #

    I ditto everything Sam said above. We should arrange another skype chat soon. The education system in England is becoming even more dire- scrapping pensions, raising the retirement age- it’s all doom and gloom Su. I took a New Zealand Skilled Job test online and passed. Am going to see my friend in NZ during the summer hols so i will be able to look round primary schools then. Will let you know the october half- term dates asap and then i will hopefully be able to come and see you and rich then. Miss you, D x

    • suscatty 30 January, 2011 at 10:23 am #

      Hi Danni

      That is SO exciting about NZ! Congratulations on passing the online test. Keep me posted!

      Yes let’s definitely Skype soon – I’m normally around during Wednesday and Thursday weeknights (your time) so just let me know when suits.

      Hope your friend is recuperating well – I’m still reeling from that 😦

      Miss you too Sxx

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Wanted: Bermudian Mum « Dog or Affair - 4 February, 2011

    […] in our bedroom (though I’d take 10 of these any day over a cockroach) and if you read one of my previous posts, you’ll know I recently lost my heat bag of beans to a mould attack. I’ve been switching on the […]

Leave a Reply

