Wanted: Bermudian Mum

4 Feb

Mums know how to get grease out of your silk dress, how to get rid of the lumps in your cheese sauce, and when it is okay to tell a white lie. They even know things that Google can’t tell you. Mums, in short, are everyday superheroes.

When I first moved to university I was regularly phoning my mum to find out things such as the difference between bio and non-bio detergent and for how long the bacon in the fridge would be edible. I remember our student union running a Niteline call service to support fellow students, and thinking that clearly this would be much more effective if there were a bunch of mums on the other end of the telephone.

I’ve recently realised that I need to adopt a Bermudian mum. Not to replace my own mum – she is irreplaceable! But, I also need a local mum who can give me some sagacious advice about everyday life in this country. One of the big things I’m not sure about is how to look after the apartment with the damp winter air seeping in. I know it’s damp because we often have pesky little woodlice pottering around in our bedroom (though I’d take 10 of these any day over a cockroach) and if you read one of my previous posts, you’ll know I recently lost my heat bag of beans to a mould attack. I’ve been switching on the dehumidifier each morning for a few hours, and again in the evening, but is this enough? Google cannot tell me. This is something only a mum would know.

A potential candidate did approach us a little while ago when Rich and I were looking at DampRid products for our closets in our local hardware store (it’s a glamorous life we lead here in Bermuda). She came over and advised us to get some other contraption as we’d be buying the DampRid bags every few weeks in the winter. And she was right! It is incredible how much water there is floating around in the closet air! But unfortunately, despite Bermuda’s culture of friendliness towards strangers, I didn’t really feel that a five minute conversation on closet dampness was enough of a foundation on which to build an adoptive mum relationship so she headed off down the cleaning sprays aisle.

Well, whilst I may not have a Bermudian mum, I do have a rather fabulous English one who is still teaching me things twenty-eight years later. Here’s to my lovely mum, my lovely mum-in-law and all the other lovely mum figures in our lives that are wise about the things that really matter.

8 Responses to “Wanted: Bermudian Mum”

  1. Samantha Sparrow 4 February, 2011 at 10:11 am #

    Mum’s are great aren’t they? Things I have asked mine in the past fortnight include:

    1. Can I put such and such in the tumble drier? (a million times)
    2. What is the difference between a food processor and a food mixer?
    3. Where can I find american cups for baking?
    4. How can I get rid of a swollen lip on Mr S?

    I don’t know what I would do about Mum advice on the phone – not sure I have enough knowledge of my own to ever give out Mum advice to my kids!

    • suscatty 4 February, 2011 at 4:10 pm #

      Mums really are fountains of knowledge! My question is – did you cause number 4? 😉 x

  2. Chris Cumbers 4 February, 2011 at 5:15 pm #

    Love this blog Su. It is weird how Mums become the font of all knowledge when it comes to knowing daft things like stain removal etc. Will try to bring some humidity advice when we come. xx

    • suscatty 4 February, 2011 at 5:49 pm #

      They are definitely not daft – I actually think some mum knowledge should be on the schools’ curriculum! Much more useful than trigonometry! Hopefully when you come there will be less damp and much more heat 🙂 x

  3. sally beedie 6 February, 2011 at 6:22 pm #

    Hi Suzanne this is Lucy’s Mum here. Am willing to step in if your other Mums are not available when you need them. Ask Lucy about ‘Huggamumma’ it’s a brilliant idea of mine. Thank you for being her friend it’s nice to know someone is looking out for her while she is away from home.

    Sally
    xxxx

    • suscatty 6 February, 2011 at 10:09 pm #

      Hi Sally, thanks for taking the time to read my blog and for your offer of being a standby mum! I love the Huggamumma idea – I’m sure there would be a lot of demand from all the expats out here! Lucy’s great company – it’s really nice to be able to talk about English things without having to explain what they are 🙂 Thank you also so much for my laundry bag – it’s been used a lot already. Hope to meet you soon, Su xx

      • Sarah Carless 21 March, 2011 at 6:17 pm #

        Hi Sue!

        I’m Sarah, Lucy’s cousin and Sally’s niece. I’ve been catching up on your blog (and my mum has too, she’s also the best mum ever!) and in fact after talking to Lucy on skype I told her that she should start a blog herself, she’s got so many funny stories!

        I’m loving all your tales of Bermuda and it makes me feel a little closer to Lucy, although there’s nearly ten years difference in our age (me being the older one!) I miss her very much and hope daily that she’s not missing home too much.

        Loved your cake baking day you had, I’ve actually started a little cake business (check out my facebook page called eat cake – homemade goodies and if you ever need any little tips let me know. Maybe you could start selling yours then you won’t eat them all!

        Anyway, I could go on! I’ll keep up to date with your blog as it’s a very interesting read. Maybe one day i’ll jump on a plane and come and visit then we can all go out and hit the town! xx

      • suscatty 22 March, 2011 at 3:13 pm #

        Nice to meet you Sarah! Thank you for taking the time to read my blatherings, and say hi and thanks to your mum too! 🙂

        It’s lovely to hear that my tales are helping you to feel closer to Lucy – she’s a great friend and it’s so nice to have a fellow Brit around to share my experiences with.

        I’ll definitely take a look at Eat Cake – sounds yummy! We are really lacking a variety of good cakeshops in Bermuda so if you’re looking to expand your business sometime, I’m sure you would have a lot of potential customers over here!

        You definitely should come to see Bermuda! The scenery is breathtaking and the beaches are just gorgeous. And I’m sure Lucy and I would happily oblige with going out on the town! 🙂

        Thanks again for reading x

Leave a Reply

