10 Things I Love About Bermuda

25 Jul

Summer has arrived in Bermuda! After a rainy, quiet winter of uncertainty about my new home, the summer has shown me Bermuda at its best, and I’ve come to love it. Here are my top 10 reasons why:

1. Waking up to sunshine: Every morning we wake up in a bedroom bathed in sunlight. When I pull back the curtains to greet the new day, I see tall palm trees against a cloudless blue sky. No day can be that bad when it starts this way!

2. Every weekend is a holiday: Come Saturday, we’re free of our job and volunteering commitments, so we scoot to the beach, lay in the sunshine, hang out with friends, and feel like we’re on holiday – every weekend!

3. Pink sand: Our nearest beach has pink sand, created from the shells of red sea creatures which live on the coral reefs. Every time we head down to the ocean, the sight of the pink beach and the bright turquoise water takes my breath away.

4. Honking means “hello”: In the UK, a honk of a car horn generally means an aggressive obscenity. Here it means hello! And if there’s traffic because some bozo is holding everyone else up, everyone just waits patiently. There’s no road rage here, just chilled out commuters enjoying the views.

5. Tastes of England: From Cadbury’s chocolate to red post boxes, there are little tastes of home to pick me up whenever I’m feeling a bit homesick. I was ridiculously excited to find one supermarket selling Cadbury’s Cream Eggs at Easter! It’s funny how trivial things that you have in abundance at home become a huge source of happiness when you’re in a strange land.

6. Stunning scenery: The white beaches and bright blue ocean; the parks filled with oleander and hibiscus; the rows of pastel-painted houses topped with bright white roofs; and the palm trees silhouetted against the sunset… Bermuda has a unique beauty which I still haven’t got used to after almost a year of living here.

7. Tree frogs: They seem to be one of the noisiest creatures on the planet, but they are incredibly cute. The size of your thumbnail, these teeny-tiny frogs use their whole bodies to make a squeak as loud as your fire alarm. They prove that you can make yourself heard no matter what your size! Who knew amphibians could be so inspiring?

8. Positive spin on rain: Rain water is our tap water, so wet weather is always welcome in Bermuda because raindrops fill up our tanks. If we haven’t had rain for a few months, people are overjoyed when the sky clouds over and the rain pours down the limestone roofs, into our underground storage units, all ready for us to shower in or cook with the next day.

9. The USA is just a short plane ride away: We can be in Boston or New York or Miami in just two hours, on a flight as cheap as chips.

10. The ocean: Most weekends we are either in it or on it. From swimming and snorkelling to boating and kayaking, the ocean is like a giant playground! There is an incredible amount of sea turtles and tropical fish in vibrant colours to spy, and thanks to the warm waters around us, we were also able to go whale watching in spring – an amazing experience.

What would be in your top 10 “loves” for where you live?

9 Responses to “10 Things I Love About Bermuda”

  1. sally 26 July, 2011 at 12:37 pm #

    1 Knowing that my daughter lives in Bermuda and you are her friend.
    2 Looking out of my patio door at my pretty garden.
    3 Not having to worry about the rainfall on my island home.
    4 Being able to buy cheap stuff!
    5 Not hearing tree frog noises outside.
    6 A choice of more than one film at the cinema.
    7 Never knowing what the weather will be like in the morning.
    8 Fish and chips by the sea.
    9 Having most of my family close by.
    10 Being able to get to Europe in under two hours.

    • bermudamusings 26 July, 2011 at 8:51 pm #

      Mum you really do have too much time on your hands 🙂 Love you x

      • bermudamusings 26 July, 2011 at 9:08 pm #

        And obviously so do I, as here are my top ten:

        1 – Horse riding on the picture perfect pink sand
        2 – Scuba diving and snorkeling and thus sharing a special moment with a lone Smooth Trunk Fish
        3 – Waving good morning to Johnny Barnes every day, and knowing that my Mum is secretly waving with me
        4 – The tree frogs that sing me to sleep at night, and whose silence I never hope to hear
        5 – Never being more than half a mile from the sparkling blue ocean
        6 – That the buses are pink and the fire engine’s green
        7 – The sudden outbursts of rain which cause me to “oohhh” and “aahhh” every time
        8 – Wearing a bikini all weekend as my essential attire
        9 – That swapping cell numbers with a complete stranger is the best way to make great friends
        10 – Having ice-cream and beer for dinner with amazing house mates

      • suscatty 26 July, 2011 at 9:33 pm #

        Hi Lucy

        Fab list! I definitely agree with number 3 – I should have made room for Johnny Barnes on my list, such a beautiful soul! And surely Nutella is missing from number 10? 😉

    • suscatty 26 July, 2011 at 9:21 pm #

      Hi Sally

      That’s a great list! I My next post is going to be about the things I miss most from home and good ol’ fish and chips is definitely one of them! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  2. michael 26 July, 2011 at 1:47 pm #

    We have lived here for a few months now, and agree with everything you have said. Now I just need to find a way to get a whole weekend off!

    • suscatty 26 July, 2011 at 9:30 pm #

      Hi Michael

      Thanks for taking the time to pop in and read my blog. I hope you’ll manage to get a whole weekend off this weekend with Cup Match ahead? It’ll be our first Cup Match experience but my Bermudian friends tell me it’s quite the event here! Apparently you must eat fish from Dolly’s stand (!) with peas and rice, finished off with a snow cone from Snowys!

      Hope you’re enjoying settling into Bermudian life. All the best!

  3. MamaP 8 August, 2011 at 4:37 pm #

    Those beaches and blue skies are amazing….and calling out to me. Your list is fab, too.

    • suscatty 8 August, 2011 at 7:59 pm #

      Thanks Mama P! The Bermudian beaches are phenomenal I must say – I still have to pinch myself every time I see them! A far cry from my home town of rainy grey London 🙂

Leave a Reply

