A Break in Boston

12 Sep

DSC_2882

Just under two hours away from Bermuda is Boston, the capital of Massachusetts, and one of the oldest cities in the USA. Boston has always been on my wish list of places to visit, so when $99 fares came up, we grabbed the opportunity and headed there last week for a little holiday.

My first impression was how beautiful the streets were! As we navigated our way to find our B&B, we walked along pavements of red brick lined with tall trees, elegant townhouses with shiny front doors, and flourishing window boxes. Our B&B was lovely – stripped wooden floors, pastel blue walls, heavy curtains, and a large fireplace. Coming from a home of tiles, white walls, light blinds and air conditioning, our surroundings were a refreshing change!

Every day was gloriously sunny, but on our first day there was an autumnal chill in the air, and I surprised myself with how much I’d missed a crisp breeze! Later in our trip we spent an afternoon in the park, lying on soft grass, drinking freshly-squeezed lemonade, watching squirrels darting up trees and ducks sailing across the lake. It was beautiful, partly because it was so different to what we currently have at home in Bermuda. I even stopped to photograph a squirrel, because I wasn’t sure when I’d see one next. Back in the UK I’d see them almost daily and I certainly wouldn’t have thought about photographing one! It’s funny how, when the place you call home changes, so do the things you appreciate on holiday.

We spent our break exploring the city, viewing historic houses, going on a Duck tour, shopping, eating delicious food and taking in the local culture. These were my Boston highlights:

Cocktails on the 52nd Floor of the Prudential Tower

Sipping a vodka and cranberry juice whilst taking in the twinkling lights across the city was breathtaking!

Dining in Boston’s Little Italy
I love Italian food, so adored Boston’s North End – narrow streets, pastry shops, mouth-watering restaurants and colourful gelaterias. We had yummy grapefruit sorbet in Gigi Gelateria, and incredible pasta and veal at Strega – where our Napoli-born waiter was proud to tell us he’d served David Beckham. (Thankfully you don’t need a Beckham-sized bank account to dine there though.)


Watching the Red Sox win
I’m not much of a sports fan, but I loved the atmosphere at Fenway Park, home of the Red Sox baseball team, and I found baseball easy enough to follow. By the end of the game, I was on the edge of my seat hoping that my new favourite team would win – and they did!

Experiencing the Blue Man Group
Rich and I had wanted to see the Blue Man Group for years, so we took the opportunity to see the show – and were not disappointed! The production is a spectacle of colour and sound, with the audience constantly surprised by what happens next.

Breakfast at Brasserie Jo
On our last day we had breakfast outside at the lovely Brasserie Jo – a French restaurant with freshly squeezed fruit juice, crispy bacon and eggs cooked to perfection. Breakfast al fresco in the morning sunshine, watching the world go by was an absolute treat!

7 Responses to “A Break in Boston”

  1. spizkapa 13 September, 2011 at 2:33 pm #

    Hello,

    I’ve been reading your blog for a while now. I also have my own Bermuda blog at (shameless plug): http://bermuda.spizkapa.com

    I just wanted to mention some of the parallels that I’ve noticed between your blog and mine. In the beginning, I was very happy in Bermuda and all my posts were positive and encouraging. With time, a trend began to emerge. I began to miss more things from Europe and enjoy fewer of the pleasures of Bermuda. When I read your post on the 10 things you miss from home and again the one about Boston, I instantly thought of how I had similar experiences.

    My wife and I are moving back to Europe at the end of this month. I hope you continue to be happy and enjoy Bermuda but, in the end, it wasn’t for us.

    Excellent writing, by the way, keep up the good work.

    Spiros

    • suscatty 13 September, 2011 at 4:13 pm #

      Hi Spiros

      Lovely to hear from you and thank you for your kind words! I’m sorry to hear that Bermuda wasn’t for you – I know a lot of expats that have found it wasn’t what they expected and are moving home sooner than they anticipated. I wish you the very best with your move back to Europe and hope your next home is a happy one! I’ll certainly take a look at your blog too, thank you for sharing the link.

      Best wishes to you 🙂

      Su

  2. sarah carless 13 September, 2011 at 6:08 pm #

    Looks like this could be somewhere you’ll go to often! A little home from home maybe? Also, Blue Man group was a good choice. I saw it at the O2 a few years back and loved it! If you ever see something called Slava’s Snowshow on book yourself tickets! I’ve booked some and it looks fantastic. x

    • suscatty 15 September, 2011 at 5:27 pm #

      Hi Sarah

      Yes, absolutely, it’s a really lovely city, and it’s such a luxury to be able to travel to the States with no jet lag when we land! The Blue Man group were wonderful, although I was a bit nervous when I saw the plastic ponchos waiting for us on our seats! (We were a few rows from the front!) I’ll definitely look out for Slava’s Snowshow – thanks for the recommendation!

  3. Michelle Crawford 16 September, 2011 at 10:42 am #

    Hi

    Excellent blog! My husband and I are moving out to Bermuda in 5 weeks….having just got married in Mauritius!! Yes, we too are looking to replicate our island paradise!

    I suspect I’ll have a similar life to you in that I’ll be trying to find work and will feel happiest keeping busy but realistically I’ll be a housewife for the foreseeable future! I need to learn from your experience to relax and enjoy it and not feel guilty about reading my book for a couple of hours!

    I’d be interested to know what you wish you’d known before you got out there! Any tips for the move?!

    My husband’s first day is 24th Oct if you fancy grabbing a coffee that week?

    Keep up you good work, I’ll be coming back for tips!

    Michelle

    • suscatty 18 September, 2011 at 10:24 am #

      Hi Michelle

      Many congratulations on your recent wedding – Mauritius must have been such a beautiful setting!

      It’s definitely quite an adjustment going from having a career to becoming a housewife, but I’d recommend getting involved with volunteering via http://www.volunteer.bm – it’s a great way of meeting people and keeping your brain and business skills active!

      I think the main thing I wish I’d known is that it will take time to feel settled. Because it’s an English speaking region, with a culture that is not that dissimilar from what we were used to in the UK, I thought I’d feel at home fairly quickly – but actually it took me a few months to feel content, and not keep looking back to what I’d left behind in the UK. Just be patient with yourself, and expect that initially you may have fantastic days and frustrating days, but you’ll come through it!

      Tips for the move? Pack lots of suncream! It’s not easy to get out here, and expensive! Also bring a scarf and some jumpers – if you’re travelling around on a scooter at night in the winter it gets really cold!

      Thanks so much for stopping by my blog, and for your lovely comments. Please do let me know if I can help with anything else and keep in touch!

      Su

  4. Michelle Crawford 23 September, 2011 at 8:37 am #

    Hi Su

    …and there was me about to pack up the scarfs for storage! I realised we’d soon be in the winter season, but wasn’t expecting to need a scarf – good tip! I’ll also head off to Boots for some suncream.

    I appreciate the tip about being patient regarding settling in, because as you can tell I’m already trying to get involved before I’m even there, I probably need to slowdown a bit! I think volunteering will be a great option to get involved, meet people and fill my time productively so I’ll definitely plan to do that.

    I’m currently busying myself with the long term work permit paperwork – who’d have thought you need everything from a chest x-ray to a police certificate to a notarised degree certificate?!?! Very thorough! Unfortunately no detail is contained within the permit form so we’re having to use a bit of guesswork at the moment :-S

    Thanks again for the tips
    Michelle

Leave a Reply

